Guest Post: Job Hunting Advice for College Seniors

Note: this post comes from Gotta Mentor and was written by Gotta Mentor CEO and Co-founder Ron Mitchell.  You can find the original post here.  Check back on making a PRofessional as I give you updates about any successes I have with this site.

What I would do as a college senior looking for a job in this environment

There are no simple answers if you are looking for a job as a college senior right now, but here are three things you should consider:

1) Take a job where you will learn the most
Pre-1980, college students took jobs where they thought they would get the most job security. They went to the big companies like IBM, GM and GE. In the 80`s and 90`s college seniors started to focus on where they could make the most money like Wall Street. In the 2000`s, students started to focus on where they could enjoy the best lifestyle like the dot coms. Well today, the focus should be on where you can learn the most. This may mean that you make less money and have less flexibility. But in the long run the skills that you develop will set you free and enable you to chart a career path that you will have control over.

2) Go Abroad
What I am going to say here, may seem contradictory to what I have written above but it is not. Get your butt out of the country. This may mean studying for an extra year or taking some menial type of job abroad. In this case the type of job does not matter. Don`t worry about what you learn on the job, because learning about a different culture is just as important. Learning a language is just as (if not more) important. Tops on my list to go to would be China, India and Brazil. Big markets that are only going to become more important to the global economy.

3) Don`t cop out and go to law or business school right away. 
I know that many of you are taking your LSATs, GMATs and GREs. Don`t cop out! Even in a good economy, I would tell you to work for a few years before going to graduate school. These schools will always be there for you. Once you go and saddle yourself with even more school debt, you will have even less opportunity to find or do the things you want to do. You have very little risk as a young person to go and try something different.

  1. Hi,

    I stumbled across your blog when I discovered you included me on your blogroll – thanks for that!

    This post really struck me because I was in the this very situation at the beginning of the summer. I graduated with a PR degree in May, right as the economy was starting its downward slide. Most of the large agencies had hiring freezes, but there were numerous internships listed – at first, this frustrated me because I had already had 4 internships. Reluctantly, I opted for a 3-month internship at a new firm that was a part of a huge, global agency’s network. The new firm was significantly smaller than agency, so I got a lot of practical work that taught me a lot about PR, but I still had the much larger agency’s network to tap into, which eventually helped me land my current job. Definitely the best of both worlds in our current economic situation.

    If I hadn’t done that, I would have tried to go abroad. Fluency in other languages is almost a golden ticket to a position in the U.S.

    Well, I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Best,
    Meg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

